Category Archives: Default

Jason Mraz, Rascal Flatts, Sean Paul, Gorillaz

Jason Mraz

Jason Mraz was born on June 23, 1977 in Mechanicsville, Virginia. In 2002, he released his debut album, Waiting for My Rocket to Come. The allbum was a relative commercial success, with the album peaking at number fifty-five on the Billboard Hot 200 and at number two on the Top Heatseekers Chart. The lead single from the album, The Remedy (I Won’t Worry) was co-written by music production team The Matrix and it was Mraz’s first top twenty single on the Billboard Hot 100, peaking at number fifteen. In July 2005, Jason Mraz opened for Alanis Morissette during her Jagged Little Pill Acoustic Tour. On July 26, 2005, he released his second major-label album, “Mr. A-Z”, through Atlantic Records. It debuted at #5 on Billboard’s Top 200 albums chart, selling over sixty-thousand albums in the first week. It also spawned several singles which include “Wordplay” and “Geek in the Pink” . In 2008, Mraz released his third
studio album, We Sing. We Dance. We Steal Things.. The album debuted at number three on the Billboard 200 was a commercial success worldwide, peaking in the top ten of many international charts. Jason Mraz currently owns an Avocado Farm in San Diego.

Rascal Flatts

Rascal Flatts is an country rock band founded in Columbus, Ohio in 1999. It features three core members, Jay DeMarcus, Gary LeVox and Joe Don Rooney. In early 2000, the group made their debut with their single “Prayin’ for Daylight”. It peaked at #3 on the Hot Country Singles & Tracks (now Hot Country Songs) chart. The CD single was released in April 18, 2000, with B-side “Long Slow Beautiful Dance”. On October 2, 2002 Rascal Flatts released their sophomore album, Melt. The lead-off single “These Days” was the group’s first Number One hit on the Billboard Hot Country Songs charts. The follow-ups, “Love You out Loud” and “I Melt”, respectively reached the number three and number two spots. Melt has sold over three million copies as of May 2009. Rascal Flatts has since released five more albums which include Feels Like Today (2004), Me and My Gang (2006), Still Feels Good (2007), Greatest Hits Volume 1 (2008) and Unstoppable (2009). They have also released twenty-four singles on the Billboard Hot Country Songs charts, including ten number ones. Their longest-lasting Number One is “Bless the Broken Road” at five weeks, while their biggest crossover single is “What Hurts the Most”, which topped both the country and Adult Contemporary charts in 2006, and was a Top Ten pop hit.

Sean Paul

Sean Paul is the professional name of Sean Paul Ryan Francis Henriques, born on January 9, 1973 in Kingston, Jamaica. His parents, Kadapurath Karthiyaani and Frances Alukas, were both talented athletes, and his mother is a well-known painter. In 2000, Sean Paul released his debut album, Stage One with VP Records. The album debuted at #109 with 8,982 copies sold in the first week. The album has shipped only three hundred and fifty thousand copies. On November 26, 2002 Sean Paul released Dutty Rock. It features two U.S. #1 singles, “Get Busy” and “Baby Boy” with Beyonce and charted in the top 6 on the UK Singles Chart. The album itself reached #2 on the UK Albums Chart, and #9 on the U.S. Billboard 200 Albums Chart. He followed up the success of Dutty Rock with the release of his third studio album, The Trinity. Since July 19, 2006, the album has sold over four million copies around the world. It peaked at number six on the U.S. Billboard Hot 100 and seventeen on Billboard’s R&B/Hip-hop charts. Sean Paul is currently working on his fourth studio album entitled “Imperial Blaze”. It’s set to be released in the summer of 2009.


Gorillaz is a virtual band created in 1998 by Damon Albarn of alternative rock band Blur, and Jamie Hewlett, co-creator of the comic book Tank Girl. The band is composed of four animated band members: 2D, Murdoc, Noodle and Russel. The band’s first album, 2001’s Gorillaz, sold over seven million copies and earned them an entry in the Guinness Book of World Records as the Most Successful Virtual Band. It was nominated for the Mercury Prize 2001, but the nomination was later withdrawn at the band’s request. Their second studio album, Demon Days, was released in 2005 and included the singles “Feel Good Inc.”, “Dare”, “Dirty Harry” and “Kids with Guns”/”El MaƄana”. Demon Days went five times platinum in the UK, double platinum in the United States and earned five Grammy Award nominations in 2006. The combined sales of Gorillaz and Demon Days had, by 2008, exceeded 15 million albums. The band has received three nominations from the MTV Europe Music Awards, winning all three: Best Dance Act and Best Song for “Clint Eastwood” in 2001, and Best Group in 2005.